Marvel Marathon: The ultimate order guide to watching the 23 movies from the MCU

Marvel Marathon: The ultimate order guide to watching the 23 movies from the MCU

Looking back at the history of cinema, what the folks at Marvel have achieved is nothing short of a ‘marvel’ in itself. To bring about a story spanning a truckload of characters, different worlds, timelines, births and deaths – it takes a huge effort in the knowledge of the material, putting together the teams and bringing out the end product to the screen. Most of the Marvel films were released in the last twenty years, but the order of release does not match up to the actual events taking place in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).


So here below, is the ultimate order guide to watching the 23 films from the MCU. The listing has been divided into four phases, namely – Births and Beginnings, Space and Outer Space, Extended Brotherhood and The Ultimatum.

Read on, and start watching.

Stage 1 – Births and Beginnings
This is the basic stage that introduces us to the main characters in the MCU, who later get together and form the ‘Avengers’ clan. It is important to know who the first enemies of the Avengers were and that’s exactly where you have to start with. This stage also gives us a clear idea of where each Avenger comes from, their background and close associates.
1. Captain America – The First Avenger (2011)
2. Captain Marvel (2019)
3. Iron Man (2008)
4. Iron Man 2 (2010)
5. The Incredible Hulk (2008)
6. Thor (2011)

Stage 2 – Space and Outer Space
This set will introduce you to the Avengers first up, their first villain and then take you across to space and outer space where more characters come to the fore. This is where the MCU gets past the usual human form of superheroes and help us meet some more funny and enticing characters.
7. The Avengers (2012)
8. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
9. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
10. Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2017)
11. Iron Man 3 (2013)
12. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Stage 3 – Extended Brotherhood
The MCU gets into deeper territories with this superb phase that gets really exciting with the strike rate of the films it has. Every character that comes in at this stage possesses great value and adds so much colour to the universe, with emotional depth as well. You will be bowled over by the awesomeness of Ant Man, Black Panther, Doctor Strange and the world of Thor.
13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
14. Ant Man (2015)
15. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
16. Black Panther (2018)
17. Spider Man: Home Coming (2017)
18. Doctor Strange (2016)
19. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
20. Ant Man and The Wasp (2018)

Stage 4 – The Ultimatum
This stage might be the shortest of them all, but it is indeed the best of them all. The MCU decided to culminate some of its biggest superheroes with a special, rousing and smashing finale that dropped everybody’s jaws. We need not say anymore because you should know about the gold standard of this one.
21. Avengers Infinity War (2018)
22. Avengers Endgame (2018)
23. Spiderman: Far From Home (2019)
With that, we come to the end of the MCU films that have hit our screens so far. But as a bonus, down below is a list of all the upcoming films from the brand we all love.


Black Widow
The Eternals
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
Untitled Spiderman sequel
Thor: Love and Thunder
Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness

Black Panther 2
Untitled Captain Marvel Sequel

Share your thoughts