MUBI partners with India's leading local distributors for 200 regional contents

Richard Mahesh -

MUBI partners with India's leading local distributors for 200 regional contents

MUBI, one of the reputed streaming platforms is now taking a major leap to conquer the Pan-Indian crowds. With this streaming hub boasting of collections that includes masterpieces made by Indian filmmakers. The streaming service has collaborated with leading local distributors like AP International, FilmKaravan, GoQuest, Matra Publications, NFDC, Shemaroo and Vista India that enables wide streaming of regional movies from India, which will facilitate a collection of 200 new Indian movies from various regions. This includes Amit Dutta’s all-time critically acclaimed and award-winning movies. So far, these movies have been under spotlights only during its screenings at film festivals. This is the first-ever time, the general audiences will get an opportunity to experience the works of this maverick filmmaker. To be streamed from this July, the list of movies include


  • Nainsukh (2010) - July 18
  • World premiere of Wittgenstein Plays Chess With Marcel Duchamp Or How Not To Do Philosophy (2020) - July 19.
  • Saatvin Sair (2013)
  • Museum Of Imagination (2012)
  • Chitrashala (2015)

The Tamil movies to be streamed on the first stage would be

  • Vaazhkai (A.V. Meiyappan, 1949)
  • Pokkiri Raja (S. P. Muthuraman,1982)
  • Alaipayuthey (Mani Ratnam, 2000)
  • Bow Bow (S Pradeep Kilikar, 2019).


For the fervent buffs of Malayalam cinema, here are the complete details of the movie to be streamed on MUBI.

  • Adaminte Makan Abu (Salim Ahamed, 2011)
  • City Of God (Lijo Jose Pellissery, 2011).


The other regional films to be streamed are as follows

  • Kabir Singh Chowdhry's Mehsampur (2018)
  • Shazia Iqbal's acclaimed short film Bebaak (2019).
  • Sanal Kumar Sasidharan’s S DURGA (2017)
  • Oraalppokkam (2014).
  • Pakeezah (Kamal Amrohi, 1972)
  • Aakrosh (Govind Nihalani, 1980)
  • Celluloid Man (Shivendra Singh Dungarpur, 2012)
  • Aakaler Sandhane (Mrinal Sen, 1980)
  • Miss Lovely (Ashim Ahluwalia, 2012)
  • I.D (Kamal K. M, 2012)

Share your thoughts